Slow Cooker Canadian ChiliEstimated Cost:  $14.50

Prep Time:  30 minutes

Slow Cooker Time:  4 to 5 hours

Serves:  12

I think the thing I love about chili is the sheer number of different types available to please our taste buds.  A friend of mine sent me a variation of this chili a few years ago.  After a few minor modifications and a few tips I learned online I think I’ve got a winner, eh?

2 lbs. lean ground beef
1 1/2 cups onion, diced
1 Tbs. crushed red pepper
6 cloves garlic, crushed (how to)
1 Tbs. Worcestershire sauce
2 cans (4 oz.) mushroom pieces, drained
1 can (28 ounce) maple cured bacon baked beans
2 cans (15.25 oz.) pinto beans, with liquid
2 cans (6 oz.) tomato paste
3 carrots, sliced
3 stalks celery, sliced
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
2 jalapeno chile peppers, diced (how to, safely)
1/2 cup Canadian beer (I prefer Labatt Blue)
1/4 cup barbeque sauce

1. In a large sauté pan, over medium heat, combine the beef, onion, red pepper, garlic, and Worcestershire sauce; sauté until beef is browned and the onion tender. Drain off the excess fat and place meat mixture into the slow cooker.

2. Add mushrooms, baked beans, pinto beans (w/liquid), tomato paste, carrots, celery, peppers, beer, and barbeque sauce into slow cooker.

3. Cover, and cook on LOW for 4 to 5 hours.

4. Serve with your favorite chili toppings such as tortilla chips, shredded cheese, chopped onions, and sour cream.

Mike’s comments:

I thought of all the wonderful Canadian friends I have as I entered this recipe. I am blessed for each and everyone of you.

