Moms Wilted Leaf Lettuce and Bacon SaladEstimated Cost:  $4.00

Prep Time:  10 minutes

Total Times:  20 minutes

Serves:  6

Yum Factor:  TBA

My mother had to think of creative ways to get me to eat salads as a youth, and as an adult too.  This was one of her sure-fire tricks to get me to eat and enjoy ALL of my salad.  This recipe was a summer tradition at the my house growing up. My grandmother passed this recipe down to my mother. Mom said they raised all their own vegetables for this recipe when she lived back in Pennsylvania growing up.

5 slices bacon
2 Tbs. vinegar
1 Tbs. lemon juice
1 tsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
1 head leaf lettuce – rinsed, dried and torn into bite-size pieces
1 red onion, thinly sliced

1. Place bacon in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium heat until evenly brown. Remove from skillet, crumble and set aside.

2. To the hot bacon drippings, add the vinegar, lemon juice, sugar and pepper. Stir over medium heat until hot.

3. In a large bowl, combine the lettuce and green onions. Add the warm dressing and toss to evenly coat. Sprinkle with bacon and serve.

Mike’s comments:

If you wanted to get fancy you could use a red wine vinegar or even a balsamic in the dressing. Different greens can easily be substituted for the leaf lettuce.

