Mike's MeatloafEstimated Cost:  $9.50

Prep Time:  20 minutes

Cooking Time:  1 hour 10 minutes

Standing Time:  10 minutes

Serves:  8

I’ve been perfecting my meatloaf recipe for years, now. This is the latest, upgraded, version. I’ve never had a complaint and believe the pork sausage added to the ground beef is the secret.

~~I would cook anything for you…~~

2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup milk
2/3 cup fine Italian bread crumbs
1/3 cup onion, finely chopped
1/2 Tbs. parsley flakes
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. dried basil OR dried oregano
1/8 tsp. ground black pepper
1 1/4 lbs. ground beef
4 oz. rolled pork sausage

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

2. In a medium bowl combine eggs and milk; stir in bread crumbs, onion, parsley, salt, basil, and black pepper. Add ground beef and pork sausage; mix well. Lightly pat mixture into a loaf pan.

3. Bake in a 350°F oven for 1 hour and 10 minutes (70 minutes total). Spoon off fat*. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Mike’s comment’s:

*I always serve mashed potatoes when I make my meatloaf for dinner. For a great gravy I simply pour off the excess juices (fat really) when the loaf comes out of the oven. I also scrape off any of the yummy gravy stuff off the top. With this pure flavor I make the gravy.

