Cajun Spice BlendEstimated Cost:  $2.00

Prep Time:  5 minutes

I use this spice blend in many recipes.  I use it as a blended spice when cooking, I use it as a rub when I BBQ, I even set it out on the table with the salt and pepper with some meals.  Not only will making your own Cajun Spice Blend save you some money, I’ve not found a store bought blend that comes close to being as flavorful as this mix.

2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. garlic powder
2 1/2 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. ground black pepper
1 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp. cayenne pepper
1 1/4 tsp. dried oregano
1 1/4 tsp. ground cumin
1 1/4 tsp. dried thyme
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes (optional)

1. Stir together all the spices; mix to combine well.

2. Store in an airtight container. I like to use old spice shaker bottles. Yields about 1/4 cup.

Mike’s comments:

I like to keep lots of different homemade spice blends on hand. I’ve found I use up my spices before they go bad this way. I hate opening my spice cabinet and seeing a spice container adorned with graphic design that screams “hair band era”.

