Kenny Rogers Fire and Ice ChiliEstimated Cost:  $15.00

Prep Time:  20 minutes

Cook Time:  2 hours

Serves:  10

Served this at my first MtG home tournament.  Not a speck left!

1 can (20 oz.) pineapple chunks in syrup
2 lbs. lean boneless pork roast, cut into 1-inch cubes
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 can (28 oz.) diced tomatoes
1 can (6 oz.) tomato paste
1 can (4 oz.) diced green chili peppers
1 green pepper, chopped
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup chili powder
4 tsp. ground cumin
1/3 cup jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
sliced green onion, shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream for toppings (optional)

1. Drain pineapple, reserving syrup. In a Dutch oven or large stock pot, cook pork, half at a time, in hot olive oil till brown. Return all the meat to the pot.

2. Add the first chopped onion and 1 clove garlic. Cook over medium heat till onion is tender, stirring occasionally. Add the reserved pineapple syrup, un-drained tomatoes, tomato paste, green chili peppers, green pepper, remaining onion, 2 cloves garlic, chili powder, cumin, jalapeno pepper and salt.

3. Bring to a boil; reduce heat. Cover and simmer the chili for 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.

4. Add the pineapple chunks. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes more.

5. Serve with the sliced green onion, shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream, allowing guests to add their favorite toppings.

Mike’s comment’s:

~~So I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in~~

Nothing makes me happier then making a recipe I know Kenny Rogers has prepared some point in the past. I usually put on my favorite Kenny MP3s, not forgetting his work with The First Edition, and sing along as I cook.

Being the nerd, fantasy-fanboy that I am, I couldn’t resist changing the recipe title just a little. I had to tip the hat to Game of Thrones by transposing the Fire and Ice in the original recipe title.

My favorite part of this recipe is something I wrote down over 15 years ago, it was barely legible: “Kenny adds 2 more tablespoons of the jalapeno pepper to really light folks up.” As if he and I were personal friends, right? LOL.

