Mike's Apple CrispEstimated Cost:  $5.00

Prep Time:  20 minutes

Bake Time:  30 minutes

Serves:  6

Near the end of my fathers life he spent quite a bit of time in the hospital.  I don’t think he liked much of the food.  His nutritionist told me the one thing he really enjoyed was Apple Crisp, but that the hospital only served it once or twice a week.  After speaking to dad I found out he liked the crisp more then the apple.  I went back to my kitchen and started tweaking and came up with this recipe, one that has a little more crisp.

I brought this yummy dessert to the hospital a number of times over the next few months.  This recipe will always hold a special place in my heart.

5 cups cooking apples, peeled, cored, and sliced
2 Tbs. sugar
3/4 cup regular rolled oats
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup flour
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/3 cup butter
vanilla ice cream (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 375°F.

2. Place sliced apples in a 2-quart baking dish. Sprinkle 2 Tbs. sugar over apples; mix to combine.

3. For topping, in a medium-bowl combine the oats, brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Cut in butter until mixture resembles course crumbs. Sprinkle topping over fruit.

4. Bake in a 375°F oven for 30 to 35 minutes or until fruit is tender and topping is golden.

Mike’s comments:

In my opinion, the only way to serve this Apple Crisp is warm with vanilla ice cream.

