Easy Crunchy Taco SaladEstimated Cost:  $11.00

Total Time:  30 minutes

Serves:  10

I’ve made variations of this salad for years.  It used to be my standby addition to the company potlucks back when I spent most of my day in a cube.  I always got positive feedback in our post-potluck-productivity meetings.

1 lb. lean ground beef
1 pkg. taco seasoning mix
1 head iceberg lettuce, broken into small pcs.
2 med. tomatoes, chopped
1/2 cup ripe olives, sliced
4 med. green onions, sliced (approx. 1/4 cup)
2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
2/3 cup Italian dressing
1 bag tortilla chips, coarsely crushed

1. In 10-inch skillet, cook beef and taco seasoning mix as directed on seasoning mix package.

2. In large salad serving bowl, gently mix lettuce, tomatoes, olives, onions and cheese. Add beef mixture; stir gently to mix.

3. Just before serving, add dressing and chips; toss.

Mike’s comments:

I much prefer using Doritos Nacho Cheese tortilla chips for this recipe. I think they add a little flavor punch that standard corn tortilla chips lack. Personal choice on that call, however.

