Mike's Bannana BreadEstimated Cost:  $4.00

Prep Time:  15 minutes

Cooking Time:  1 hour

Serves:  10

My solution for a delicious quick bread that will keep you from throwing out over-ripe bananas.

1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups mashed banana (approx. 3 lg.)
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour one 9×5-inch loaf pan.

2. In an electric mixer cream butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs, then bananas. Add flour, soda, salt, and cinnamon; mixing just until combined.

3. Pour into greased loaf pan and bake at 350°F for about 1 hour, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into middle of bread.

Mike’s comment’s:

I always seem to end up with 3 or 4 bananas, uneaten and over-ripened, in my pantry. It doesn’t matter if I buy 8 bananas at the grocery store or 4 – I still end up with 3 or 4 about to go bad. This recipe is my quick way of ensuring I don’t waste them.

I like to keep my banana bread in the fridge, in a Ziploc bag.

